A novelist, playwright and journalist, Saramago was born on Nov. 16, 1922 in Ribetejo, Portugal.

He achieved his first success as an author in 1982 with the publication of the novel Memorialdel convento, which was followed by El año de la muerte de Ricardo Reis. Other works by Saramago include Historia del cerco de LisboaEl evangelio según JesucristoEnsayo sobre la cegueraTodos los nombres and La Caverna.

Saramago won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1998, becoming the first Portuguese author to receive that prestigious award. He published El hombre duplicado in 2002 and the novel Las intermitencias de la muerte in 2005.


Sign up to our newsletter: