How Latin America's Six Nobel Laureates Shaped the Continent's Literary Scene

Latin American writers began to grab the international spotlight in the 1960s, when the region produced a range of powerful new voices that came to redefine its literature. A literary boom was underway amid a background of political turmoil throughout the region.

The first three Nobel laureates on this list were bona fideboom writers, but the last three demonstrate that great Latin American literature began long before the 1960s. 
By Stephen Woodman, 18 January 2018

  1. Mario Vargas Llosa – 2010 Winner
  2. Octavio Paz – 1990 Winner
  3. Gabriel García Márquez – 1982 Winner
  4. Pablo Neruda – 1971 Winner
  5. Miguel Ángel Asturias – 1967 Winner
  6. Gabriela Mistral – 1945 Winne

Read full article: The Culture Trip 

Sign up to our newsletter: